Triptych: The World Beyond by OTGO 2021–2022 acryl on canvas 150 x 300 cm  
The World Beyond -7 by OTGO 2021-2022, acryl on canvas, 150 x 100 cm
The World Beyond -7 by OTGO 2021-2022,
acryl on canvas, 150 x 100 cm





Triptych The World Beyond
-- The original text in French --
-- The text in German --
-- The text in Nederlands --
Translated by Caroline Girod, edited by Elisa Kohl-Garrity. The English translation made public on 20 September 2022 Berlin

Someone once asked a guide on Mount Everest if an old climber had a chance of reaching the summit. He replied as follows: Maybe. But in the end, it is the mountain that decides1.

This quote perfectly illustrates the primordial role that nature plays in our lives. She serves us as much as a spiritual master as she fulfils her role as nurturer. Never resentful, she continues to keep humanity alive despite the perpetual assaults of mankind. Human beings depend on her generosity; like two sides of the same coin, they are bound to her. However, instead of acting with her in symbiosis, they loot and destroy her, forgetting that the death of nature will lead them to their own extinction. Every day, like kamikazes, we wage a suicide war against our own self, against our own ally. And it is on this most burning theme that the artist Otgo ponders over with his work Triptych The World Beyond (2021-2022).


Triptych_The_World_Beyond_6_7_8
Detailed view


As usual, Otgo has created three very rich canvases. Very detailed, his works invite the spectators to get as close as possible to them, even if it means touching them with the tip of the nose. The details of faces, expressions and movements become perceptible, and so the paintings reveal all the treasures they contain. As we plunge our eyes into the artist's paintings, the story begins. Wild animals and fishes invade the canvases: different species of monkeys, tigers, zebras, anteaters, rays. The canvases are teeming with life. However, beyond the exotic and colorful animals, some masks appear; they are everywhere and only bulging eyes have been depicted on the surface of the masks. The absence of mouths, noses, but especially of emotions gives them a chilling aspect. As for the human beings, who are sort of lifeless black silhouettes, they are wandering, condemned, in silence. Others are transformed into silhouettes of different colors or transparent. While the first resemble disarticulated dolls, the second figures seem to be disappearing from the world little by little and until they become barely perceptible. Just like the masks, these silhouettes no longer have faces. For the first as for the latter, the disappearance of a body or the breaking of a soul lead to silence and death.



1. John-Kabat Zinn, Où tu vas tu es, Éd. J’ai lu 1995


 











The World Beyond -6 by OTGO 2021-2022, acryl on canvas, 150 x 100 cm
The World Beyond -6 by OTGO 2021-2022,
acryl on canvas, 150 x 100 cm





Triptych: The World Beyond 6, 7, 8
«HUNNEN» – Solo Exhibition with OTGO cova art gallery NETHERLANDS

War is never justified!
We are losing our suicidal war against Nature
 Triptych The World Beyond: YouTube Link:
https://youtu.be/EXMx7r02v1A



Alongside, the tension between the beings is palpable and their proximity seems forced. For lack of space, the animals, have to crowdthe space of human beings and remain penned up, in a tiny space. The species intermingle, and the prey rubs shoulders with their predators. Everything is overcrowded, there is no free space. Very quickly, a feeling of asphyxiation invades us, and we then feel pity for these small creatures and their lives that no longer belong to them. No tree, no flower brings cheerfulness to these paintings. One after the other, little monkeys and newborns are climbing on tanks that have taken on zebra stripes, as have planes, to camouflage themselves among the animals. The camouflage is successful, for they are only perceptible after a careful examination of the canvases. These steel behemoths are shooting blindly into a crowd of humans and animals. They are not aiming at anyone in particular; they are just shooting into space. Besides, all the species seem to be trapped in a grid formed by the shots. Perhaps this is the representation of a blind and murderous killing in which logic and common sense have vanished. Sometimes, newborn babies are being sucked into the tanks. They have just been born but are already dead, devoured by the blinding machine of power.


The more the viewer looks at the paintings, the more tension he feels. Without the use of words, Otgo's paintings cling to the viewer's mind and reveal a heartbreaking truth that rings out like a cry of alarm in the middle of the dark night. They awaken the one who looks. Several animals, including the tigers, do not hesitate to plunge their eyes into ours. They wonder about the reasons for this madness, they seek explanations. Then, they seem to ask for help. Their look becomes supplicant. We, the spectators, suddenly become those who see, but do nothing. We are silent witnesses feeling the distress of what is happening in front of our eyes. The monkey mothers are trying to save their young ones, but it is obvious that no one will be spared. Finally, we must look away, for the plaintive gaze of the beings has become too hard to bear.







    













The World Beyond -8 by OTGO 2021-2022, acryl on canvas, 150 x 100 cm
The World Beyond -8 by OTGO 2021-2022,
acryl on canvas, 150 x 100 cm






However, not all the animals are afflicted. Some even display laughing features. If one looks closely, some of the monkeys show sly, malevolent smiles. They seem happy with the situation. In fact, they are part of the background, as dark as they are, and they blend in with the other depictions. They are amused by the situation and their hearts are not or no longer receptive to pain. Perhaps they belong to hell? Only they are not the only ones smiling. Some of the silhouettes have put on zebra or monkey heads and strike provocative poses. They also don’t care and are not bothered by the devastating shots of the tanks. Is this the way to show the absurdity of what is happening? Surely...


Triptych_The_World_Beyond_6_7_8
Detailed view 

Otgo's way of evoking emotions at a crescendo is remarkable. Seen from afar, the paintings appear colorful, almost joyful, however drawing closer, another reality is revealed: joy and curiosity gradually give way to sadness and anger. Details appear and change our perception and emotions. We then put ourselves in the shoes of these beings who only seek to live freely. They are the mirror of our own existence and of our world that is slowly passing. Once separated from these canvases, we feel a change in ourselves. Something has awakened in us. Nevertheless, all may not be lost. Although dark, some of the silhouettes are emitting luminous signals around their faces. Could this not be proof, however slight, that a rebirth is possible? These figures appear like beams of light in the dark and cold landscape. They call for awakening, for change and for a more humane life for ourselves and the other beings who inhabit this planet. Hope must be found, for hope is one of the pillars of the world2.





Maryna Magnin. Mai 2022





2. Proverbe d’Afrique du Sud


Triptych The World Beyond
-- The original text in French --
-- The text in German --
Translated by
Caroline Girod, edited by Elisa Kohl-Garrity. The English translation made public on 20 September 2022 Berlin















 OTGO Otgonbayar Ershuu                                         English  German  Mongolian  www.facebook.com/OTGOArtist  Contact

Triptych: The World Beyond by OTGO 2021–2022 acryl on canvas 150 x 300 cm  
The World Beyond -7 by OTGO 2021-2022, acryl on canvas, 150 x 100 cm
The World Beyond -7 by OTGO 2021-2022,
acryl on canvas, 150 x 100 cm




Triptych The World Beyond
-- The text in English --
-- The text in German --

Un jour, quelqu’un demanda à un guide de l’Everest si un vieux grimpeur avait une chance d’arriver au sommet. Celui-ci répondit en ces termes : Peut-être. Mais à la fin, c’est la montagne qui décide1.


Cette citation illustre à la perfection le rôle primordial que tient la Nature dans nos vies. Elle nous sert aussi bien de Maître spirituel que de Nourricière. Jamais rancunière, elle continue à faire vivre l’humanité malgré les perpétuels assauts des Hommes. L’être humain dépend de sa générosité ; comme les deux faces d’une même pièce, il est lié à elle. Pourtant, au lieu d’agir avec elle en symbiose, il la pille et la détruit, oubliant que la mort de la Nature le conduira à sa propre extinction. Chaque jour, nous livrons, tels des kamikazes, une guerre-suicide contre notre propre camp, notre propre alliée. Et c’est sur ce thème, actuel au possible, que se penche l’artiste Otgo avec son œuvre Triptych The World Beyond (2021-2022).


Triptych_The_World_Beyond_6_7_8
detailansicht


Comme à son habitude, Otgo a créé trois toiles d’une grande richesse. Très détaillées, les œuvres invitent les spectateurs à se rapprocher d’elles le plus possible, quitte à les toucher du bout du nez. Les détails des visages, des expressions et des mouvements deviennent perceptibles et les toiles dévoilent alors toutes les richesses qu’elles contiennent. En plongeant nos yeux dans les peintures de l’artiste, l’histoire commence. Animaux et poissons sauvages envahissent les toiles : différentes espèces de singes, tigres, zèbres, tamanoirs, raies. Les toiles grouillent de vie. Pourtant, au-delà des animaux exotiques et colorés, des masques apparaissent ; ils sont partout et seuls des yeux globuleux se dessinent à la surface des masques. L’absence de bouche, de nez, mais surtout d’émotions leur donne un aspect glaçant. Quant aux êtres humains, qui sont des sortes de silhouettes noires sans vie, ils errent, condamnés, dans le silence. D’autres sont transformés en silhouettes de différentes couleurs ou transparentes. Quand les premières gisent telles des poupées désarticulées, les secondent semblent disparaître peu à peu du monde et deviennent à peine perceptibles. Tout comme les masques, ces silhouettes n’ont plus de visages. Pour les premières comme les secondes, la disparition d’un corps ou la brisure d’une âme mènent au silence et à la mort.



1. John-Kabat Zinn, Où tu vas tu es, Éd. J’ai lu 1995


 











The World Beyond -6 by OTGO 2021-2022, acryl on canvas, 150 x 100 cm
The World Beyond -6 by OTGO 2021-2022,
acryl on canvas, 150 x 100 cm





À côté de cela, la tension entre les êtres est palpable et leur proximité semble forcée. Les animaux, par manque de place, doivent se rapprocher des êtres humains et rester serré les uns contre les autres, dans un espace minuscule. Les espèces se mélangent et les proies côtoient les prédateurs. Tout est surchargé, il n’y a pas d’espace libre. Très vite, un sentiment d’asphyxie nous envahit et nous ressentons alors de la pitié pour ces petites créatures et leur vie qui ne leur appartient plus dorénavant. Aucun arbre, aucune fleur ne vient donner de la gaieté à ces toiles. Tour à tour, petits singes et nouveau-nés, grimpent sur des tanks qui ont pris, tout comme les avions, les rayures des zèbres pour se camoufler parmi les animaux. Camouflage réussi, car ils ne sont perceptibles qu’après un examen minutieux des toiles. Ces colosses d’acier tirent à l’aveugle dans une foule d’êtres humains et d’animaux. Ils ne visent personne en particulier, ils tirent, c’est tout. D’ailleurs, toutes les espèces semblent piégées dans un quadrillage formé par les tirs. Peut-être est- ce ici la représentation d’une tuerie aveugle et meurtrière dont la logique et le bon sens ont disparu. Parfois, des nouveau-nés sont aspirés dans les tanks. Ils viennent à peine de naître mais, sont déjà morts, dévorés par la machine aveuglante du pouvoir.

Plus le spectateur regarde les toiles et plus il ressent de la tension. Sans utiliser de mots, les toiles d’Otgo s’accrochent à l’esprit du spectateur et lui dévoilent une vérité déchirante qui retentit comme un cri d’alarme au milieu de la sombre nuit. Elles réveillent celui qui regarde. Plusieurs animaux, dont les tigres, n’hésitent pas à plonger leur regard dans le nôtre. Ils se questionnent sur les raisons de cette folie, ils cherchent des explications. Puis, semblent demander de l’aide. Leur regard devient suppliant. Nous devenons alors, nous les spectateurs, ceux qui voient, mais ne font rien. Nous sommes des témoins silencieux ressentant la détresse de ce qui se passe devant nous. Les mères singes essayent de sauver leurs petits, mais il est évident que personne ne sera épargné. Finalement, nous devons détourner les yeux, car le regard plaintif des êtres est devenu trop dur à soutenir.



Triptych: The World Beyond 6, 7, 8
«HUNNEN» – Solo Exhibition with OTGO cova art gallery NETHERLANDS

War is never justified!
We are losing our suicidal war against Nature
 Triptych The World Beyond: YouTube Link:
https://youtu.be/EXMx7r02v1A




    













The World Beyond -8 by OTGO 2021-2022, acryl on canvas, 150 x 100 cm
The World Beyond -8 by OTGO 2021-2022,
acryl on canvas, 150 x 100 cm






Triptych_The_World_Beyond_6_7_8
detailansicht


Pourtant, tous les animaux ne sont pas affligés. Certains présentent même des traits rieurs. En regardant attentivement, certains singes affichent des sourires sournois et malveillant. Ils semblent heureux de la situation. D’ailleurs, ils font partie de l’arrière-plan, sombre comme eux, et se fondent à l’intérieur des toiles. La situation les amuse et leur cœur n’est pas ou n’est plus réceptif à la douleur. Peut-être appartiennent-ils à l’enfer ? Seulement, ils ne sont pas les seuls à sourire. Certaines silhouettes ont revêtu des têtes de zèbres ou de singes et prennent des poses provocantes. Celles-ci se moquent aussi et ne sont pas gênées par les tirs dévastateurs des chars. Est-ce une manière de montrer l’absurdité de ce qui se passe ? Sûrement...

Cette façon qu’à Otgo de susciter des émotions crescendo est remarquable. Vu de loin, les toiles semblent colorées et presque joyeuses, mais de près, une autre réalité se dévoile : la joie et la curiosité laissent peu à peu la place à la tristesse et la colère. Les détails apparaissent et changent notre perception et nos émotions. Nous nous mettons alors à la place de ces êtres qui ne cherchent qu’à vivre librement. Ils sont le miroir de notre propre existence et de notre monde qui s’éteint peu à peu. Une fois séparés de ces toiles, nous ressentons un changement en nous-même. Quelque chose s’est réveillé en nous. Néanmoins, tout n’est peut-être pas perdu. Bien que sombres, certaines silhouettes émettent, au niveau de leur visage, des signaux lumineux. Ne serait-ce pas une preuve, aussi mince soit-elle, qu’une renaissance est possible? Ces deniers apparaissent comme des faisceaux de lumière dans le paysage noir et froid. Ils appellent au réveil, au changement et à une vie plus humaine envers nous-mêmes et les autres êtres qui peuplent cette planète. Un espoir doit être trouvé, car celui-ci est un des piliers du monde2.





Maryna Magnin. Mai 2022





2. Proverbe d’Afrique du Sud















 OTGO Otgonbayar Ershuu                                         English  German  Mongolian  www.facebook.com/OTGOArtist  Contact